Blogger Spotlight: Trisha from the Three Thousand Miles blog

 

  1. Name: Trisha

 

  1. School: Medical school in Los Angeles, CA

 

  1. Previous University: Harvard University

 

  1. Degree: Psychology with a minor in Global Health & Health Policy

 

  1. Specialty (if you know or what you are interested in): Undecided

 

  1. Social media/blog:

www.threethousandmilesblog.com

twitter: @trisha_therese

Instagram: @threethousandmiles

 

  1. In a nutshell, what inspired you to pursue medicine? From a young age I was exposed to what healthcare looked like for vulnerable populations such as minorities, immigrants, and underserved communities. I entered medicine out of a passion for working with underserved populations and a desire to advocate on their behalf.
  2. Why do you feel that there is a need for diversity in medicine and how you hope to help this change in the future? It’s important to me that there is an equal representation of minorities and women in medicine. I hope to change this by continuing to mentor others who hope to get to where I am today. Additionally, I will continue to be visible wherever I am whether it’s online, in the hospital, or in my community. I want to inspire others to achieve their goals and to pursue medicine. Representation matters, so even if they don’t listen to what I have to say, I hope that the fact that they see a young black woman with a white  coat, makes them realize that they can do it too.
  1. What is one thing you wish you could change about medicine? The culture of medicine really needs to be revamped. There’s more talk about physician and medical student suicide but that’s not enough. Yes our curriculums are already jam packed with information, but that’s no excuse and we need to prioritize well-being and mental health for our current and future providers. Burnout is real. Mental illness is real. Suicide is real. We all know that it takes a lot of sacrifice to enter medicine, but I really don’t believe that we need to teach our students and doctors that in order for them to be considered a “good doctor” or a “good student” their lives, needs, and well-being don’t  matter  and need to be brushed aside.  The current culture of medicine has trickled down to pre-meds who aren’t even in medical school yet. I interact with student’s who believe that they need to eat, sleep, live, breathe medicine from day 1 until the rest of their lives in order to make it in the field.  I would like to change this aspect of medicine and make it so that providers and students are encouraged to live balanced lives. Physicians and healthcare providers are known to be “healers” but they are some of the least taken care of players in healthcare. Hopefully this changes soon.

 

 

  1. Who do look you look up to in medicine/life, who are some of your mentors, or people that you would consider your #goals and why? I really admire one of the Emergency Department doctors I worked with during my gap year when I was an ED Scribe. She is legitimate “goals” in every way. She was very smart, always stylish (even when wearing scrubs), and all her patients loved her. She is someone that I hope to be like when I am finally done with all my schooling and training. I also really admire anyone who has followed a non-traditional path in medicine. Anyone who trailblazed a way for themselves in medicine outside of the usual path is amazing in my eyes and I respect their hard work and determination so much.
Leave a Reply

